Wellbeing Award


Announcing the John Coppock Pharmacist Wellbeing Award

Honouring the significant contribution of John Coppock to the wellbeing of pharmacists, the Pharmacists’ Support Service (PSS) is pleased to announce the John Coppock Pharmacist Wellbeing Award.

This will be awarded annually, during October which is Mental Health Month in Australia, to a pharmacist or a pharmacy team who contributes significantly to the wellbeing of members of the pharmacy profession. Generous sponsorship by Pharmaceutical Defence Limited (PDL) has made this award possible. The Award was announced by the current PSS President, Curtis Ruhnau, during an event honouring John’s long service to the pharmacy profession.

Mr John Coppock OAM, and his wife Lyn

Announcing the Award and thanking John and his wife Lyn for their significant contribution to pharmacy Curtis said “There comes a time in life when we hope that we have left our profession in a better state than we found it. For John Coppock there can be no doubt that he’s done exactly this, and we are sincerely grateful for his dedicated service and Lyn’s support over such a long period of time.”

John supported PSS from its early days, initially in his former capacity as PDL Chair, when he both advised the fledgling group, which was formed by PSA Victoria in 1995, and organised seed funding from PDL to assist with the establishment of PSS. When PSS became an independent organisation in 2010, John took the helm as President and led the growth of PSS from a small Victorian service to a National organisation, which is now funded by its member organisations and donations from the profession. Under John’s leadership PSS now has a strong contingent of volunteers who take calls from stressed pharmacists.

John’s work in pharmacy included many years serving the profession with roles in many pharmacy organisations. As well as being President of PSS from 2010 to 2023, he was Chair of PDL for 40 years, from 1971 to 2011 (and was a director from 1969 to 2011). He was Chair of the Australian Pharmaceutical Publishing Company (APPCo), from 2001 to 2013, having been a director since 1986. In addition John was a member of the Pharmacy Board of Victoria (now Victorian Pharmacy Authority) from 1978 to 1984 including treasurer from 1982 to 1984. John was also a director of Guild Insurance and Financial Services, from 1976 to 2006, providing 30 years of service.

John’s leadership in pharmacy has been characterised by integrity, strong relationships within the pharmacy profession and an absolute commitment to the concept of pharmacy uniting to support all members of the profession. John has always strongly advocated that members of the pharmacy profession need to work together for the best outcomes for pharmacists and for the Australian community.

More information about PSS and useful resources for pharmacists, interns, students and international graduates can be found on the PSS website at www.supportforpharmacists.org.au.

PSS encourages any pharmacist, pharmacy intern, student or international graduate who is feeling stressed to reach out for support. We are available to provide a listening ear and support over the phone every day of the year from 8am to 11pm AEDT. Call 1300 244 910 for anonymous and confidential support from a pharmacist colleague over the phone.

PSS relies on the generosity of the profession to continue its work. Donations to PSS can be made via the online portal which is linked to our website. Just click on the Donate Now button (www.givenow.com.au/pharmacistssupportservice). All donations over $2 are tax deductible and a receipt will be issued.

The Pharmacists’ Support Service is guided by representatives from the following organisations

  • Australian Friendly Societies Pharmacies Association
  • Australian Pharmacy Council
  • Pharmaceutical Defence Ltd
  • Pharmacy Guild of Australia
  • Pharmaceutical Society of Australia
  • Pharmaceutical Society of Victoria Ltd
  • Professional Pharmacists Australia
  • Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia
  • National Australian Pharmacy Students’ Association

Date of release 2 February 2024

Read more in the AJP here: https://ajp.com.au/news/john-coppock-pharmacist-wellbeing-award-launched/